LaptopsVilla

New Dell XPS 17 2022 Review: The Best Just Got Better

Read our Dell XPS 17 2022 review to see if this new laptop is worth your money!

This image shows the Dell XPS 17 2022 on the table.
Image credit: digital trends

Pros & Cons

Pros
  • Great design
  • Awesome display
  • Good keyboard and trackpad
  • Slim and light
  • Excellent gaming performance
  • Good battery life
  • Overall, an excellent performer
Cons
  • Little expensive
  • The ports are limited
  • There is no OLED screen option

A new Dell XPS 17 has just been released, and it’s already being called the best of its kind. In fact, PC Mag gave the Dell XPS 17 2022 their Editor’s Choice award—but don’t take their word for it! 

We’ve got our hands on one of these devices to see if it lives up to the hype and are happy to report that they haven’t disappointed! 

Here’s what we love about the New Dell XPS 17 2022 and why you should give it serious consideration.

Today’s best deals on the Dell XPS 17 9720 (2022) At Amazon!

A Closer Look

The Dell XPS 17 is one of the most popular laptops on the market and for good reason. It’s a great all-around machine that can handle anything you throw at it, whether you’re a student, professional, or gamer. 

The new Dell XPS 17 for 2022 is even better than its predecessor, with a slimmer design, improved performance, and new features that make it the best laptop on the market.

If you’re looking for a high-performance laptop, there’s no better option than Dell’s line of XPS laptops. This year, Dell unveiled its newest model, aptly named Dell XPS 17 9720 (2022)

Designed to stand out from everything else on store shelves, it comes in three different colors and features an impressive list of specs that make it one of the best around. 

If you’re still unsure about whether or not it deserves a spot on your desk, keep reading for more information. Dell’s newest laptop comes in three colors, a nice change from its predecessor which only came in silver. 

You can order your Dell XPS 17 with a black or white lid and keyboard frame and accent color. If you’d prefer to stand out from the crowd, Dell also offers an attractive rose gold option. 

Aesthetics are great, but performance is even more important when it comes to selecting a laptop for daily use.  Let’s take a closer look at what makes the Dell XPS 17 so great.

The Price

The Dell XPS 17 2022 starts at $2,249.99 for the base model with a Core  i7-12700H processor, 8GB of RAM, and a 256GB PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD, and Intel Iris Xe graphics. 

Bumping up to a Core i7-11800H CPU, 16GB of RAM, and a 1TB SSD will set you back. For our review unit with a 4K UHD+ (1,920 x 1,200) resolution display, 16GB of RAM, and a 1TB PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD costs $2,249.99.

If you’re looking for an ultraportable but have a little more room in your budget, Dell XPS 17 2022s might be just what you’re looking for. 

A more traditional clamshell design, with a solid screen and perfect sound for such a thin laptop, offers decent performance and solid battery life without being much larger than a business notebook. 

Design & Build Quality

The Dell XPS 17 2022 is one of the best-designed laptops on the market. It’s made of high-quality materials, and it looks and feels premium. Plus, it’s thin and light for a 17-inch laptop, making it easy to carry around.

This image shows the Dell XPS 17 2022.
Image credit: gadget match

Although it has a larger body than most laptops, it’s still easy to carry around. At 5.67 pounds and 0.7 inches thick, it’s lighter and thinner than many other large laptops we’ve tested recently—the LG Gram series, for example. 

Dell didn’t skimp on build quality, either. It’s made of all metal that feels high-quality and sturdy in your hands. The lid features Dell’s signature carbon fiber pattern that helps it stand out from competitors’ designs. 

And one of our favorite things about its design is how responsive its display is when you touch it; there’s no lag between your finger and what happens onscreen. 

Overall, the Dell XPS 17 2022 is an excellent design choice if you’re looking for a laptop with a big screen.

I also loved how thin and light it was for such a large device; this makes it perfect if you want something that’s portable but doesn’t sacrifice performance.

The only downside I found was the bezel—although not very noticeable at first glance, I noticed that there was some extra space near the bottom edge of the screen where Dell could have fit more speakers or ports without impacting usability.

The Display

The Dell XPS 17 2022 has an absolutely gorgeous display. It’s a 4K UHD+ (1900 x 1200) IPS panel with a 16:10 aspect ratio and 100% DCI-P3 color gamut coverage. 

It’s also incredibly bright, hitting around 600 nits when I tested it. This means that not only will colors pop on this screen, but you’ll be able to see what’s going on even in direct sunlight. 

I was very impressed with how well it handled video and audio, as I was able to watch a few videos on Netflix without any problems. Streaming videos is easy using their Intel® CoreTM processors and integrated HD Graphics 520. 

This image shows the Dell XPS 17 2022 on the table.
Image credit: slick deals

Watching HD videos is an absolute pleasure and I didn’t notice any lag or buffering. Of course, if you have a 4K TV, then you’ll need to get an external media device for true 4K support. 

Text is also incredibly crisp and clean thanks to Dell’s InfinityEdge display. There are actually two versions of it, one with a 4K touch panel, and one without. 

However, I had an older non-touch version for testing. Text remains sharp even when you zoom in up to 200%, making reading articles or books easy on the eyes. Colors were also vibrant and accurate when calibrated through my Spyder 5 Pro calibrator. 

If you want a screen that’s good for watching movies or playing games on your computer, then you should definitely check out either version of Dell’s flagship laptop series.

For me, there’s no other laptop on sale right now that offers a better screen. It will come with a similar 4K touch display but will have an upgraded 144Hz refresh rate and Nvidia RTX graphics in place of their current Nvidia GTX 2050 Ti and 1070 Max-Q GPUs.

That said, Dell does have some stiff competition. The MSI GS75 Stealth has a similar 4K display with a 144Hz refresh rate and G-Sync support, as well as RTX graphics in an ultraportable form factor. 

If you want something more affordable, there’s also Dell’s own XPS 15 2022 that offers good specs for not a lot of money, but it doesn’t have a 4K display either.

Today’s best deals on the Dell XPS 17 9720 (2022) At Amazon!

Keyboard and Trackpad

The Dell XPS 17 2022 has an excellent keyboard and trackpad. The keys are well-spaced and have good travel, making typing a breeze. 

The trackpad is large and smooth, making it easy to navigate around the screen. Plus, the backlit keyboard looks great in low light.

Overall, Dell has done a great job with their keyboard and trackpad. They’re highly responsive and comfortable to use, even when typing long documents or messages. 

This image shows the man's hands on the Dell XPS 17 2022.
Image credit: digital trends

It’s easy to forget you’re using a touchscreen because of how good these two features are. Plus, it looks great in low light thanks to its backlit keys.

Now we will be looking at what it can do for users and gamers in particular.

The keyboard and trackpad are a big part of what makes Dell’s new XPS series laptops so great. These two features work flawlessly with Windows 11 Home and make for a great typing experience that users will love. 

Plus, they look great in low light thanks to their backlit keys. Overall, Dell has done a great job with their keyboard and trackpad and we can’t wait to see them in other laptops soon.

Software and Performance

Another notable mention is that Dell included the newest Windows 11 Home operating system, which is easier than ever to use and has tons of great features.

All in all the Dell XPS 17 2022 review was very positive and they accomplished the goal of creating an affordable laptop that’s powerful enough for the everyday user without sacrificing performance.

In addition to games, you can get some pretty amazing graphic results on your Dell XPS 17 2022 review if you’re a creator as well. 

While editing a video for work I was able to show off my skills with great ease due to its powerful‎ 4.7 GHz core_i7_family processor. 

Even with all that power running there was almost no lag when playing around with my effects while trying out some of the new tools they added to Final Cut Pro. 

With 16GB of RAM, I was able to edit several 4K videos at once and made a masterpiece in no time. For games, you can use their‎NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3050 4GB GDDR6 GPU for some amazing graphic quality to enhance your gaming experience. 

While playing Grand Theft Auto V online multiplayer game on full settings I noticed almost no lag when running around causing mayhem with my fellow teammates. 

I was also able to check out some of the editing tools they added to Final Cut Pro while doing my Dell XPS 17 2022 review. With some of their amazing new features, you’ll be able to edit videos like a pro. 

You can use their 3D effects feature to create some awesome graphics for your video project and with its new noise reduction feature, you won’t need to worry about any clicks or pops in your audio when used with a pair of studio headphones.

Connectivity, Features, and Value

The new Dell XPS 17 for 2022 is one of the best laptops you can buy, period. It’s got great looks, powerful performance, and a wide range of ports and features. Plus, it’s now available with 4G LTE connectivity. 

If you’re thinking about picking up a new Dell XPS 17 2022, we’d strongly advise that you give it some serious consideration. 

It’s now available with 4G LTE connectivity too, so whether you’re at home or on the go, you can connect to your network as fast as possible, without having to rely on WiFi. And all of that comes at a price that isn’t crazy high either. 

You can grab an entry-level model for around $2249 and go all the way up to $2500 for a maxed-out version with 16GB of RAM and 1TB of storage space.

If you’re in the market for a great laptop, we’d definitely recommend taking a look at what Dell has to offer. New models are available with 4G LTE connectivity and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3050 Ti graphics (as standard), making them well suited for gaming and entertainment. 

You’ll also get fantastic build quality, high-end performance, and a wealth of other features that will make it easy to use your laptop on a daily basis. 

Simply put, if you’re looking for one of the best laptops around, then you should take a closer look at these new models from Dell. So What Are You Waiting For? Get it Now!

We’ve gone through hundreds of new laptops in recent months, and these are some of our favorites. They’re more than capable of handling most tasks you throw at them and they even offer high-end features like 4G LTE connectivity.

 And thanks to attractive price points, they won’t leave a huge hole in your wallet either. If you’re after a great laptop that can do it all, you’d be well advised to consider one of these models from Dell.

This image shows the Dell XPS 17 2022.
Image credit: windows report

Battery life

The new Dell XPS 17 2022 has amazing battery life. I was able to get over 10 hours of use on a single charge, even with the screen set to the highest brightness setting. 

This is thanks to the new power-saving features that Dell has included in this year’s model. Plus, the fast-charging feature means that you can get your laptop back up and running in no time. 

Overall, I was really impressed with the battery life of the new Dell XPS 17 2022 and it is definitely one of the best laptops on the market right now.

If you’re looking for a high-end gaming laptop that also has excellent battery life, then you should consider purchasing one of Dell’s new laptops. 

Their new line of devices includes powerful processors and a range of different storage options and memory sizes so that they’re suited to pretty much any use case or budget. 

Plus, they all have long battery lives so you can take them out on the go without having to worry about constantly charging them. 

The new 2022 version of their XPS 17 is especially impressive with a beautiful 4K display and incredibly thin bezels. I would highly recommend checking it out if you’ve been thinking about upgrading your laptop.

Overall Verdict – Should You Buy It?

If you’re looking for the best laptop on the market, the new Dell XPS 17 2022 is it. It’s got a gorgeous design, powerful performance, and a great price. 

Plus, with its new features and improvements, it’s only going to get better with time. If you’re in the market for a new laptop, the Dell XPS 17 2022 should be at the top of your list.

When buying a laptop, look for high performance. Don’t be fooled by a sleek design and powerful specs – if your laptop lags or freezes when you’re working on it, then it isn’t any good. 

Always try to find something that performs well under pressure because laptops need to run at peak efficiency in order to give you an efficient experience. 

Plus, you’ll get better battery life and lower lag times overall, which is definitely something worth investing in!

Overall, we think you should buy it. While it does have a few issues, most of them are minor and easy to fix. 

Plus, Dell has made a good track record for themselves when it comes to customer service so you shouldn’t have too much trouble getting your new laptop fixed under warranty. 

If you’re looking for an ultraportable laptop that’s got a bit of everything, then our review is very helpful for your decision on the new Dell XPS 17 2022!